Redress the balance: Albums I never got round to listening to

Hey, like I said, blame Spotify for me not getting round to hearing a ton of new music this year. I spent much of 2009 engrossed in the back catalogues of Spoon, Les Savy Fav, Beck and Yo La Tengo, so you can understand why a lot of trendy young things passed me by.

So, from now till the end of the year, I hereby promise to – at the very least – listen to the following albums of 2009 that my friends have been haranguing me for avoiding:

The Mountain Goats – The Life Of The World To Come

Girls – Album

Japandroids – Post-Nothing

The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart

Neon Indian – Psychic Chasms

Passion Pit – Manners

Cymbals Eat Guitars – Why There Are Mountains

A Sunny Day In Glasgow – Ashes Grammar

Volcano Choir – Unmap

JJ – JJ N° 2

Sorry for being such a slacker.
3 thoughts on “Redress the balance: Albums I never got round to listening to

  1. I know the feeling! I just wish that everything would slow down for me.

    By the way, I found your blog through hypem.com as you had listed Wild Beasts as your #1 album of the year, and it looks like we share a lot of the same tastes, so I look forward to hearing more from you!

  2. Thanks Phil! I’m glad to hear there are others somewhat alarmed at the pace of new music towards the latter end of the decade. I think this ties in neatly with what Simon Reynolds wrote about the increased availability of music as the decade went on, which diversified our tastes and favourites.

  3. That’s so true. Unfortunately, I guess that the diversity prevents huge movements happening. As a young person growing up the UK, you always hear about the “punk movement”, and I’m always left wondering what the modern day equivalent is. I guess there is no equivalent, and there’s no point trying to re-live the past. Those sort of phenomena will probably never happen again! Everybody is so broad minded nowadays, and that’s great, but still…. I want my modern day punk movement!

Leave a Reply

